Nkumba University

 About the University  Schools  Quality Assurance  Student Life  Sports  Features  Admissions  Webmail 


The University has six Schools that promote education in business, sciences and technical disciplines, the arts, social sciences, communication as well as cultural fields. The six Schools include:
  • School of Business Administration;
  • School of Education, Humanities and Sciences;
  • School of Social Sciences;
  • School of Law and Institute of Criminal Justice;
  • School of Industrial, Commercial Art and Design; and,
  • School of Sciences.

The School of Sciences, which was until recently the School of Hospitality and Environment Sciences, was transformed accordingly in order to additionally teach Applied Sciences, which is in line with government efforts to popularize Science and Technology Innovation (STI) in tertiary institutions as well as public life.The School of Law is the only one of its kind in the East Africa region offering programmes leading to the award of Bachelor of Criminal Justice as well as Diplomas in Criminal Justice. These are new programmes suitable for members of the public as well as the Armed Forces such as the Police, Prisons and the Army.

In the course of each academic year, the University sets aside a research fund to facilitate at least 10 research projects from the six Schools of the University. Not only is research budgeted for each year, the University continues to seek other research sponsors. The natural research programme under the Presidential Initiative for Malaria Research is housed at the School of Sciences. Nkumba University is now recognized not only for supporting human health sciences, including related research; in regard to its environmentally friendly stance, it has embarked upon the forestation of its one hundred hectare farmland near Entebbe town.

The University aspires to excel through quality assurance practices as well as external assessment of University programmes and facilities by National Council for Higher Education (NCHE) and the Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA). The aim is to ensure that the University programmes are nationally and regionally accredited and comparable internationally.

Change Mode: Mobile | Standard
Copyright © 2010 Nkumba University. All rights reserved. Powered by Vinyad dynMedia®Pro 4.0